1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Behind them came West Germany and Czechoslovakia, while in the 4th place stood the second Italian team composed of Pietro Carissoni, Guiseppe Panarari, Gianfranco Spiga and Canzio Tosi.
The nine Italian riders Franco Dall'Ara (Guzzi 175), Gianfranco Saini (Guzzi 235), Gianni Perini and Giuseppe Panarari (Capriolo 75), Jolao Strenghetto (Capriolo 75), Tullio Masserini and Eugenio Saini (Gilera 98), Nino Tagli (Guzzi 175) and Pietro Carissoni (Gilera 235) conquered as many gold medals.
For the first time 50cc bikes took to the field: five Kreidlers, entrusted to two West German riders O. Dittrich and A. Lehner, who along with third Swiss rider, D. Steiner, formed an Industry team.
A fourth Kreidler 50 was entrusted to the Swiss H. Haller, who along with Steiner formed the Swiss team in contention for the Silver Vase, and a fifth bike was ridden by the German H. G. Anscheidt, this also in the German BDR B team in contention for the silver vase.
The Kreidlers involved in the race were derived strictly from small mopeds with a frame of pressed steel, the two-stroke engine mounted cantilever and air cooled, a 4-speed gearbox, 4 hp and forks with swinging arms affording a few centimeters of movement only.
Very light and well sized, but simply adapted to the task, all were amazed by their high efficiency levels.
Out of 31 manufacturers present the best result was the Capriolo which obtained the No. 1 ranking in the Industry class closely followed by the Team of MZ and Jawa. The rookie team Kreidler finished in 4th position.

1961And so we arrive at the 36th ISDT which was held in England, Llandrindod Wells, 2nd – 7th October. Early in the season important new regulations were introduced. Until 1960, in fact, they only gave prominence to the result of the various teams involved in the Trophy and Vase, while the riders were not placed in any rankings and individual results were considered only by the type of medal (gold, silver or bronze) that each of them took.
The bikes were grouped according to four different average sizes: up to 100cc, 175cc, 250cc and over.
For the first time an analytical class sub-division was introduced in 1961 in classes ranging from "small" 50cc followed by another eight classes: up to 75, 100, 125, 175, 250, 350, 500cc and over, two more classes until sidecar 250cc and up to 350.
Each class was assigned a different hourly average, from 35 km/h for motorcycles from 50 to 48 km  for the highest class. The event took on more and more importance year after year and the many registrations came from all over the world.
Out of 299 registered bikes 271 started, divided as follows: 13 to 50 cc, 5 to 75cc, 9  x 100cc, 24 x 125cc, 57 x 175cc, 118 x 250cc, 42  x 350cc and 28  x 500cc. At the end of the six-day race only 185 riders crossed the finish line with 87 gold medals, 63 silver and 35 bronze.
Despite the sections becoming ever more difficult and demanding, in this edition also there were three scooters registered - W.F.M. OSA (175cc) and two Lambrettas ridden by the English participants Smith and Kimber in the 125 class.
In the 50cc class, the Kriedlers of the previous year were now accompanied by the little Zündapp with its steel frame and the new Combinette model and Gritzners, also with a pressed steel chassis powered by an Ilo motor and an external "reducer" that doubled the number of ratios.
There were three women members at the start: the "veteran" British riders Mary Driver and Jill Savage on Greeves 250s, and Olga  Kevelos on a Maico 175, who retired following a fall and battery breakage on the first day.
The Jawa 350 of Sedina showed up with a big novelty: as on the previous twin versions it still had two spark plugs and two exhaust pipes, but was equipped with a new single-cylinder engine.
The various Italian teams, equipped with Moto Guzzi and Capriolo, figured well all week, so much so that Fausto Vergani riding a 100 Capriolo  proved the best rider ever with zero penalties and 658.71 points won in the various special tests (of a maximum of 660) and team mate Richard Bertotti, with a 75cc Capriolo gained 653.24 resulting in an absolute third place.
The Italian team was for years at the pinnacle of the world's top enduro competitions - bikes and riders were top-notch, but the extreme difficulty of the competition did not always guarantee the best result.
The team engaged in the Trophy, for example, composed of Franco Dall'Ara Guzzi 175, 250 Guzzi Daminelli Costanzo, Ricccardo Bertotti (Capriolo), Gianfranco Saini (Guzzi 175), Jolao Strenghetto (Capriolo 75), Nino Tagli (Guzzi 250) with Team Manager Luigi Secchi, struggled up for the last record, but had to settle for second place behind the winners, the West Germans, BDR, Günter Dotterweich Maico 250, Richard Hessler Zündapp 175, 175 Hercules Lorenz Müller, Sebastian Nachmann BMW 600, 300 and Erwin Schmider NSU Lorenz Zündapp 250 Specht, who won the Trophy by a few seconds difference obtained in its final stages.
The Silver Vase was clearly taken by the crew made ​​up of Czechoslovakia B F. Bouska Jawa 250, O. Hamrsmid, F. Hofer and V. Stepan on Jawa 350, Team Manager F. Mosna.
The Italian team consisting of Luigi Gorini 100 Capriolo, Eugene Saini Guzzi 175, 100 and Fausto Vergani (Capriolo 100) Canzio Tosi Guzzi 250 finished in 5th place.
Four gold medals were won by the Italian team of Franco Dall'Ara, Jolao Strenghetto, Eugene and Gianfranco Saini and two silver medals: Pietro Carissoni and Nino Tagli.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14