1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

The 30th edition of the ISDT was raced in Czechoslovakia, Gottwaldov, September 13th to 18th and also had all the statistics to further confirm, if ever it were needed, the importance of this event internationally.
On behalf of all the European nations 243 riders presented at the start, but only 119 crossed the finish line.
The latter were awarded 56 gold medals, 25 silver medals and 34 bronze medals.
Italy was represented with a list of excellent riders in the Trophy team  (Dario Basso on a 125 Rumi, Guido Benzoni - Laverda 98, Costanzo Daminelli on a 125 Rumi, Pietro Carissoni Rumi125, Domenico Fenocchio on Gilera 175), and two in the Silver Vase, Italy A (Bruno Romano on Guzzi 250, Ennio Longinotti on a Rumi 125, Ennio Mafezzoli also on a Rumi125), and Italy B (Dietrichs Serafini, Gianfranco Saini and Enrico Vanoncini all on Gilera 175s).
Luck turned her back on our (Italian) men however and what was supposed to be a big party turned into a tragedy.
At the end of the first day of competition, a few kilometers from the end, Dietrichs Serafini died following a bad fall. As a sign of mourning all the Italian riders withdrew from the competition.
After a heated head to head for all the six days of competition between the teams of West Germany and the Czechs, the Trophy was won by German Johann Abt DKW 175, 175 Otto Brack DKW, Maico 175 Deike Ernst, Udo Feser DKW 175 and Volker von Zitzewitz Maico 250.
Czechoslovakia, only 2nd place in the Trophy, had to be content with the Silver Vase assigned to their crew B, formed of Stanislav Stastka, Miloslav Polankae Zdenek Soucek.

1956The years immediately following the end of World War II were characterized by rapid and widespread economic expansion, supported by mass motorisation within a few years, revolutionizing the way of life of entire populations.
Following the continuous growth of the public interest and the participation of individuals, the number of members of the teams competing for the two most important prizes in the Six-Days also increased.
The number of riders entered in the Trophy world teams was increased to six, and went to four for the teams entered in the Silver Vase.
Its proximity to Austria favored the presence of Italians in the 31st edition of the Six-Days that ran from September 17th to 22nd in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, where official Gilera Teams were present, Mi-Val, Capriolo and Laverda.
The fashion of using large visors with helmets and boots and Barbour jackets for nearly all the northern European riders became widespread.
The Italians however were distinguished by rather poorer outfits such as a simple mechanic's overalls or sports basketball-type shoes but they were never left behind in the rankings and were among the best ever.
Bergamo riders came to the fore in those years, forming the cornerstone and for a long time being the most representative of the prestigious Italian names, reaching out and obtaining successes everywhere.
For all the six days of competition, the top positions were disputed head to head by Italians and Czechs.
In the end the Italian team composed of Pietro Carissoni, Guido Benzoni, Costanzo Daminelli, Domenico Fenocchio, Franco Dall'Ara and Flavio Montesi had to take the consolation prize behind the Jawa riders, Miloslav Soucek, Jaroslav Pudil, Bohuslav Roucka, Zdenek Polanka, Vladimir Sedina and Sasa Klimt who won the Trophy.
All the 23 Czechoslovak riders who started crossed the finish line, winning 19 gold medals, 3 silver and one bronze.
The Silver Vase went to the Dutch team composed by Benny Jansema Jawa 175cc, JS van Hoek Zündapp 250, J. Th Witberg Zündapp 250 and Fritz R. Selling, Maico 175.
The B Team Italy (Luciano Dall'Ara, Sergio Cremaschini, Gianpiero Martinelli, Gianfranco Saini), and Italy A (Umberto Bertuzzi, Rottigni Joseph, Antonio Zin, Jolao Strenghetto), delayed by several withdrawals, were placed in 13th and 16th positions.
The overall performance of our (Italian) riders was more than satisfactory, thanks to the seven gold medals of Pietro Carissoni (Gilera 175), Domenico Fenocchio (Gilera 175), Gianfranco Saini (Gilera 175), Luciano Dall'Ara (Mi-Val l25) Costanzo Daminelli (I-Val 125), Guido Benzoni (Laverda 100) and Flavio Montesi (Laverda 100).
Franco Dall'Ara (Mi-Val 125), Gianpiero Martinelli (I-Val 125), Camporese (Alpine 175), Antonio Sica (Gilera 175), Enrico Vanoncini (Parilla 175), Dario Basso (Gilera 175) and Dante Mattioli (Gilera 175) took the silver medal, while Umberto Bertuzzi (Laverda 100) and Bruno Bellezza (Parilla 175) the bronze.
In the special list of Teams for Industry, Gilera (Fenocchio, Carissoni and Saini) came out clearly on top, capturing the first place, while the three 75cc Capriolo riders, Sergio Blasi, Antonio Zin and Jolao Strenghetto, were all forced to retire.
The four Mi-Val present aroused the curiosity of many, because of the double sprocket on the rear wheel.
It was in fact thought that the larger sprocket was to be used for uphill sections and the smaller for fast sections but the choice between the high and low ratios was not so clear and was left to the discretion of individual riders.
On the morning of the fourth day in fact, several Mi-Val riders chose the smaller ratio and others the larger.
The Gilera 175s were carefully prepared in Arcore and were adorned with a large leather trunk toolbox on the tank, and an original apron to protect the intake area.
Their Achilles heel was the dry clutch, exposed and unprotected to the elements and with a tendency to overheat. In the event of having to repair the wheel, the bikes conspicuously carried a number of spare disks on the rear rack.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14